Gantify
Sign inSign up
Comparisons

Gantify vs Planner and Project Plan 3: no per-user licenses

Microsoft recommends Planner with Project Plan 3 as the natural path after Project Online. When it is the right choice, and when a free alternative compatible with .mpp files avoids the cost of licenses.

by Gantify Team4 min readData verified in September 2026
Cover illustration for the article “Gantify vs Planner and Project Plan 3: no per-user licenses”
In this article
  1. Who Plan 3 and Gantify are for
  2. Comparison at a glance
  3. Scheduling
  4. Import, export and migration
  5. Collaboration
  6. Pricing
  7. Languages, data and AI assistant
  8. How to move to Gantify
  9. Conclusion
  10. Frequently asked questions

With the retirement of Project Online, Microsoft is directing customers to Planner with premium licenses, included in Planner and Project Plan 3 and Plan 5, which provide portfolios, baselines, dependencies and Gantt charts[3]. Project desktop remains available[3]. It is a solid path, but it carries a cost for every person involved.

This article compares Gantify with Planner and Project Plan 3 based solely on Microsoft’s official pages, to help you assess which option fits best.

Who Plan 3 and Gantify are for

Plan 3 is designed for organizations already standardized on Microsoft 365 that intend to stay within the ecosystem: the Project desktop app is included[1], and its advanced capabilities include resource management with Team Planner and automatic leveling of assignments[2].

Gantify is designed for those who need the essential scheduling capabilities without the per-seat model:

  • project managers who work with dependencies, constraints and the critical path;
  • mixed teams, with external contributors or clients who need to view the plan;
  • small and medium-sized businesses that do not want to pay for a license for every person who opens the Gantt chart.

Comparison at a glance

Gantify compared with Planner and Project Plan 3, data verified on September 28, 2026. Sources at the end of the article.
FeatureGantifyPlanner and Project Plan 3
Opening .mpp files
Available.mpp/.mpt (2000–2019), .mpx, MSPDI .xml, Primavera .xer and .pmxml; resources added to task notes
AvailableProject desktop app included
Export
AvailableMicrosoft Project XML, CSV, print/PDF
AvailableAvailable
Dependencies (4 types, with lag)
AvailableFS, SS, FF and SF, with lag
Availablewith lead and lag; Planner Plan 1: finish-to-start only
Critical path
Availableon demand, with total float
Availablebaselines and critical path in Plan 3
Baselines
Availablesaved automatically at first progress; slippage in days
AvailablePlan 3
Calendars and holidays
Availableworking calendars with exceptions
AvailableAvailable
Date constraints
Availableconstraint dates and deadlines
AvailableAvailable
Resources and over-allocation
Availableproject members assigned to tasks, daily workload, over-allocation warnings
AvailableTeam Planner: allocation and capacity
Costs and budget
Partialfixed and baseline costs from imported files; no budget view
AvailableAvailable
Earned Value Management (EVM)
Not availableNot available
Availablecompares planned progress, budget and earned value
Automatic resource levelling
Not availableapplies the leveling delay from .mpp files; does not calculate it
Availableautomatic assignment leveling
Views
AvailableSummary, Gantt, list, board, calendar, workload
PartialGantt, grid, board, schedule, chart
Collaboration
Availableowner, editor and viewer roles; comments with @mentions
Availablelicensed per user
Public sharing
Availableread-only public link
Not statedNot stated
Interface languages
Available10
Not statedNot stated
Self-hosting
Not availablemanaged service, EU servers (Germany)
Not availableProject Server SE is a separate product
Entry price
Availablefree, ad-supported
Not availableUSD 30.00 per user/month, billed annually; Planner Plan 1: USD 10.00
Free plan
Availableall features, no seat limit
Not availablebasic Planner included in Microsoft 365

The data is the same as in our full comparison. Where Microsoft is ahead, we say so: Gantify does not offer resource leveling or earned value.

Scheduling

Plan 3 offers advanced dependencies with lead and lag; with Planner Plan 1, by contrast, dependencies are finish-to-start only[1]. Baselines and the critical path are among the capabilities of Plan 3[1].

In Gantify, all of these capabilities are included for every user, with no higher tiers to unlock: four dependency types with lead and lag, constraints and deadlines, calendars with holidays and exceptions, an automatic critical path, baselines with the variance of each task, and multi-level subtasks created with Tab, as in MS Project. The Summary, Gantt, List, Board, Calendar and Workload views all work on the same plan.

The areas in which Plan 3 remains ahead are automatic leveling of assignments and earned value[2]. Gantify flags overallocations day by day, but does not move tasks automatically.

Import, export and migration

Plan 3 includes the Project desktop app, which opens .mpp files natively[1]. Gantify opens them in the browser: when the file is uploaded, tasks, dependencies, calendars and baselines are imported, with a report of the items that could not be mapped, and assigned resources are listed in each task’s notes. It also reads Microsoft Project XML and Primavera .xer.

For output, Gantify exports to Microsoft Project XML, CSV for Excel and print/PDF: returning to Project desktop always remains possible.

Collaboration

Plan 3 follows a per-seat model[1]. In Gantify, you can invite anyone by link and choose their role (owner, editor, viewer) with no per-user cost. Each task has a unique key, comments with mentions and a history; for stakeholders outside the team, a read-only public link is available.

Pricing

Planner and Project Plan 3 costs USD 30.00 per user per month with annual payment; Planner Plan 1 costs USD 10.00[1]. The basic version of Planner is included in Microsoft 365, but without the premium capabilities[3]. Gantify is free, supported by advertising, with no limit on the number of users.

For a team of ten people, the difference is significant: Plan 3 requires ten licenses, Gantify none.

Languages, data and AI assistant

Gantify is available in 10 languages and hosts projects on servers in the European Union, in Germany. It includes an AI assistant that reads the plan and proposes changes for you to confirm, generates a first version of a plan from a description and, through API keys and the MCP server, integrates with Claude, ChatGPT, Gemini, Cursor and VS Code.

How to move to Gantify

  1. Gather your files: save your projects from Project desktop as .mpp or in XML format.
  2. Create a free Gantify account and a workspace.
  3. Import the files through the guided import and review the report.
  4. Save a baseline immediately after the import.
  5. Invite your team by link: viewers incur no cost.
  6. Use the AI assistant to request estimates or reorganize phases, confirming each change.

Try Gantify with your own plan

Create a free account

Conclusion

Planner and Project Plan 3 is the natural choice for organizations that work entirely within Microsoft 365 and need resource leveling and earned value. If, on the other hand, you need dependency-based scheduling with a critical path, the ability to open .mpp files and the involvement of the whole team without licenses, Gantify provides the core capabilities of MS Project free of charge, in the browser.

Frequently asked questions

Does Gantify replace Project desktop?

For scheduling with dependencies, constraints, calendars, critical path and baselines, yes, directly in the browser. It does not offer automatic leveling or earned value, which are available in Plan 3[2].

Can Gantify and Plan 3 be used together?

Yes. Gantify imports .mpp and Microsoft Project XML files and exports to Microsoft Project XML, so a plan can move from one tool to the other.

Isn’t the basic version of Planner already included in Microsoft 365?

Planner Basic is included in Microsoft 365 E3 and E5, but premium capabilities such as baselines, dependencies and Gantt charts require Planner premium licenses[3].

How much does Gantify cost for a team of 20 people?

Nothing: Gantify is free and has no per-user licenses.

Sources

Every fact about the products mentioned comes from these official pages, checked in September 2026. Prices are list prices, in the currency and billing period shown by the vendor, and may change.

  1. Pricingmicrosoft.com
  2. Project desktop featuresmicrosoft.com
  3. Microsoft: Project Online is retiringtechcommunity.microsoft.com

Try Gantify with your own plan

Create a free account, import your .mpp file or start from a template: within minutes you will see the Gantt chart with dependencies, calendars and the critical path.

Advertising keeps Gantify free